Trump University Reviews

Trump University is Donald Trump’s educational business unit.  Trump University teaches entrepreneurs how to get started investing in real estate, start a business and manage their personal finances.

Real Estate Investing classes include:

  • Short Sale Investing
  • Tax Lien Investing
  • Buy and Hold / Buy and Sell
  • Commercial Real Estate
  • Investing in Probate
  • Setting up your LLC
  • and many more

Individuals can learn in a variety of ways.  Trump University offers:

  • Live events (seminars, retreat and boot camps) around the country
  • Online courses
  • Home study kits
  • Books
  • Audio courses

The instructors for these programs were hand picked by Donald Trump and teach a learn by doing approach.

Trump University offers a satisfaction guarantee.  If for what ever reason you are not satisfied with your purchase you have between 3 and 30 days to get a full money back refund (see the site for full details).

If you have attended a program please leave your Trump University review so others can make an informed decision.

On June 2, 201o Trump University changed their name to The Trump Entrepreneur Initiative.  All future comments and reviews should be left on that page.

{ 18 comments… read them below or add one }

Jake from New York October 30, 2009 at 9:35 pm

I have been with Trump University for quite a while and have received enough information to finally pursue my dreams as an entrepreneur and investor. The content was phenomenal and varied and provided a good foundation for action. They were great partners in education and business application and helped me implement my own business model and various marketing strategies.

M. Mullins November 10, 2009 at 5:44 pm

I’d really enjoyed the Trump University training with James Harris this weekend. My mom and I really did learn a lot!…. This time around for me its all making sense now.

I appreciate your style of teaching…I feel like I learn best from you cause, you keep it so fun and simple. The timing couldn’t be better for us to have gone to your class. You know I’m really looking forward to making some big money together in the near future!

S. Horsley November 16, 2009 at 5:51 pm

I attended the Trump University class at the Marriott in Washington DC I want everyone to know that the instructor was excellent. What Trump University taught us was unbelievable !

I have a coach. His name is Troy. I have located several properties in the my area. I am investing in pre construction condos. I am excited with everything I learned.

Jane from Boston December 4, 2009 at 2:25 pm

Outstanding information and a good price!

Karen S December 7, 2009 at 5:22 pm

Thank you so much for a great week-end of learning in NYC, as most especially for the wonderful opportunity I have just been given!!! I am not sure how it happened, but i thank the Universe and all of you for the opportunity, and i look forward to working with Tad as my much needed MENTOR.

Thank you once again, I wanted to share my delight, suprise and happiness with you.

Philip Parenteau December 15, 2009 at 1:49 am

One thing that amazed me at the “free” intro class they were hosting, was that you had to buy in at that time for a 50% off, and then the classes would start 30 days AFTER the moment you paid… Seeing the gimmick here! lol

But nonetheless, It is possible to go through the manual and course pack before, and then decide if it is for you. I bought the course pack, then bailed out (after keeping some notes from the manual) because at one point, I remember the presenter saying: “If you can’t come to the class, it’s ok, it’s all in the book, so you can still catch up and ask us questions if you didn’t understand something […]” so I thought Hey! if it’s all in the book, why would I go there for them to read me what’s in the book. So I sent the book back, got my money back [and if you read between the line] will read the book later!

Hope it helps someone out there not being sure about spending $3K or so for a program like this one! Cheers to all of you beginning investors.

p.s. I should have adhered to their tax lien program instead, much more my type!

A beginner investor trying to get started for cheap so I can put my money in my assets instead of in their pocket!

Barbara S December 15, 2009 at 9:31 pm

I found the entire Trump University format to be very professional and educational. I am currently praparing to do a mentorshipt session with them and have found the Seminars and Webinars very helpful and beneficial. I also thought the staff was very professional, caring, and supportive.

R. Barnsley December 30, 2009 at 9:56 pm

Our mentor at Trump University showed us not only what to look for but HOW to look at properties. We got to see prospective properties through the eyes of a professional, seasoned, successful investor. We are now preparing to rehab two properties, with a goal of ten properties in 2008. After the training we have received at Trump University, and the relationship we have with our real estate mentor, we believe this is a very attainable goal.

Elisa from Boston January 4, 2010 at 2:27 pm

I thought the Trump University training was great. The team made sure we got and understood everything that was presented – it was very obvious that they knew what they were doing. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Robert in New York, NY January 6, 2010 at 7:01 pm

I attended two days of Profit From Real Estate Investing Workshop with James Harris and looking enthusiastically forward to the third. Mr. Harris is a mentor par excellence, his manner, his delivery, his ability to relate to his audience are all skills of which few in his capacity can boast. Also the materials and support presented by Trump University are top of the line – I find the team members all first rate professionals. This is the best investment dollar for dollar that I have ever spent on a product.

giraffe897 January 8, 2010 at 11:26 pm

The Trump University seminar was informative and inspiring. I really enjoyed myself (although the room was to cold).

sks89 January 21, 2010 at 6:49 pm

Trump has done it again. Somehow, everything he turns behind turns to gold – I attended a TU free seminar in San Francisco a few months ago and enrolled in one of their programs. Have been beyond pleased with the support and attention to detail of the team.

Jeff February 9, 2010 at 1:49 pm

For me it all started with passing by the book “Why We Want You To Be Rich” by Trump and Kiyosaki. I thought that posed an interesting question that I had not thought to ask yet. I got the book and then read all the other books this one book lead me to, including most of the Trump U and Rich Dad series of books. I especially liked John Burley and Dr DeRoos. I even got involved with the coaching program at Trump. My coach, Steve seemed very energetic and knowledgeable. I got the 90 day action plan and jumped right on it. It came to a point in the plan where I was supposed to be contacting people with mail and phone calls. The plan said that sample scripts and letters were in our program. I went looking for them and couldn’t find them. When I asked about this, they didn’t seem to know what I was talking about. They even seemed mad at me. It was as though I was trying to find some excuse or accuse them of something. I just thought a page or two got accidentally lost in the process of fulfilling my order. Well, that was the beginning of a long battle which to this day I don’t really know what happened. Just know this–they are the world’s premier real estate training company–just ask them. If you have any problems, it’s your fault. Just because you paid for coaching or mentoring does not give you the right to expect them to help you. If you don’t succeed, you just don’t have your psychology in order. It doesn’t matter how hard you try or how many hours you spend at the computer or driving for dollars, if you fail it is not their fault.

I was going out and driving around looking for vacant properties and for sale signs, writing it all down, looking up houses on zillow and trulia websites. I called my coach after emailing or faxing these pages of info to him. “What do you want to do with these?” he asked. Had I mistakenly thought that he would show me what to do with them? I am pretty sure I admitted to not knowing what to do when I paid for someone to “coach” me.

One of the free two-day weekend classes came in to town a few weeks into my coaching. Steve Miller was the main speaker. I liked his presentation and recognized much of it from John Burley’s material, especially “drawing the house.” Steve was talking about making written offers on properties. We in the audience said we didn’t have the cash to be making cash offers. “Don’t worry about it, I’ll show you where to find the money” he said. Great, he has a plan. At the end, they wanted us to pay $25,000 for a mentoring program. Wasn’t I already in a $6,000 coaching program? Now you want more? They would credit the money already spent, so I just had to come up with $19,000. So, not only do I not have the money to make cash offers for houses, I have to go $19,000 in debt on a chance that they will help me. I already got into an argument with my coach over missing sample scripts and letters I was supposed to be using in my 90 day action plan. I was intensely trying to follow the $6,000 plan which was letting me down and now I need to switch to a $25,000 plan? If you are reading this, what would you have done?

And, by the way, “we’ll show you how to find the money” meant going to your friends and family and asking them to loan you the money or get their IRA money to give to you to invest in Real Estate. The main selling point of these mentoring programs is that the news media are painting such a bleak picture of the situation that now is the best time to get deals on property. My friends and family watch the news, not Trump U emails and webinars. They all thought I was a fool.

So, ok. I have to do something, to take action and learn as I go. I have all this training I need to just jump in and do a property. My coach had found a property, REO, in a nearby “C” neighborhood. It is a 4/2 2-story. I went and looked. There was no driveway, alley parking and a spot out front on the street if you can find one. “Yeah, but 4/2’s are going for $100k and this one you can pick up for $40k” he said. It needed a little work (which turned into a lot). I didn’t think it comped out with a 4/2 that had a yard and a garage. He said all that mattered was square footage. Well, ok then. I bought and cleaned it up with my own financing, intending to flip it. Nobody wanted to buy it. I decided to use a different exit strategy–lease option. I found a taker for that and things went fine for a month or two. They lost their jobs, got into a fight, got restraining orders, you name it. (Oh, and by the way the inspectors ore not on board with the idea in lease option training that the renter is responsible for all the repairs. $200 fine to learn that lesson.) I’m all for having a few bumps in the road and learning as I go. But I do regret ever getting involved with TRUMP U.

I have since learned more about wholesaling and am still in the game. I have to be. I still need to pay off the bills I stacked up training to invest in real estate. My wife has given up on me and wants me to leave. I don’t have the money to go anywhere. Hopefully, I can get a few houses under contract and assign them soon so I can pay some bills and maybe get within a few feet of my wife.

Don’t believe the hype

It was a disaster for me. Sorry.

TxSkies July 20, 2010 at 6:54 pm

I purchased the 3 day mentor ship for $25,000 and although it was a lot of information it is not quite worth the money. I wish I would have kept that money to buy good books about the subjects (there are tons!) and I would have invested in a property… good down payment on a good investment property.
The mentor is not available to help every step of the way, and then he doesn’t return phone calls or email.
Figure it out yourself!

Big Ripoff… Don’t do it.

Axel Jordan September 6, 2010 at 10:08 pm

For me it all started with passing by the book “Why We Want You To Be Rich” by Trump and Kiyosaki. I thought that posed an interesting question that I had not thought to ask yet. I got the book and then read all the other books this one book lead me to, including most of the Trump U and Rich Dad series of books. I especially liked John Burley and Dr DeRoos. I even got involved with the coaching program at Trump. My coach, Steve seemed very energetic and knowledgeable. I got the 90 day action plan and jumped right on it. It came to a point in the plan where I was supposed to be contacting people with mail and phone calls. The plan said that sample scripts and letters were in our program. I went looking for them and couldn’t find them. When I asked about this, they didn’t seem to know what I was talking about. They even seemed mad at me. It was as though I was trying to find some excuse or accuse them of something. I just thought a page or two got accidentally lost in the process of fulfilling my order. Well, that was the beginning of a long battle which to this day I don’t really know what happened. Just know this–they are the world’s premier real estate training company–just ask them. If you have any problems, it’s your fault. Just because you paid for coaching or mentoring does not give you the right to expect them to help you. If you don’t succeed, you just don’t have your psychology in order. It doesn’t matter how hard you try or how many hours you spend at the computer or driving for dollars, if you fail it is not their fault.
+1

John Jones April 20, 2011 at 6:27 am

I invested with Trump Uni and it was like an open credit line to their bank account. They gave me the “free seminar” and gave enough information to sign up for the next 4 day retreat. Then of course you still don’t have the knowledge, so you go for the mentor program. Oh, you thought it was going to tell you something, sorry, no. You have an hour chat and you look on Zillow and Trulia and your mentor tells you these are the comps. So you ask about finincing the deal. Go speak to a broker. OK, so you go and the broker asks for the deposit. Oh, I have spent that on the Trump Uni courses. Duh! Back to the mentor, who accuses you of not having the b@lls and you should get the money somehow. Loan Sharks?! OK, now I pull the plug and good night!
My advice: There are plenty of books out there to learn from. Buy 3 or 4 and get a good feel or it. Buying a property is not rocket science. Buy 1 property, start small, in an area you know. Check the comps in at a reality agency. Do the same for rents. Check with the broker for deposits and credit checks, etc.. Put in an offer. Start small, learn. Small mistakes are easy to fix. Buying whole buildings is a different game and only there for the experienced so stay away. When you are comfortable with that deal, go for the next. Take your time, build up slowly. You do not become famous overnight, you do not become rich overnight. Both take time, you have the time.

Julia Grifin May 14, 2011 at 2:49 am

The post is actually the freshest on this noteworthy issue. I agree with your conclusions and will waitto your future updates. Thank youwill not just be enough,I will instantly grab your rss feed to stay tuned to any updates.

sareserve March 28, 2012 at 4:19 am

Trump University Reviews I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my trouble. You’re amazing! Thanks! your article about Trump University ReviewsBest Regards Agata

Leave a Comment